The Bible

The bible is a library of books. It is a collection of books of different kinds of writing. It is divided into the Old and the New Testament. The word Testament means agreement.
Old Testament
  • God’s Law (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy) = 5 books
  • History (Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther) = 12 books
  • Poetry (Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs) = 5 books
  • Prophecy (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi) = 17 books
New Testament (the life of Jesus, history of the first Christians, letters and a book of prophetic visions)
  • History (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts) = 5 books
  • Letters (Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude) = 21 books
  • Prophecy (Revelation) = 1 book
The immediate authors were writers coming from different countries, walks of life and social positions.
  • Kings (David and Solomon)
  • Prophets (Isiah and Exekiel)
  • Matthew (tax-collector
  • Luke (doctor)
  • Apostles (Paul)
Ultimate Author of the Bible (God) he wrote through many different people at different times.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s